Time.

The past. The present. The future. There’s no time like the present.
Don’t look back, don’t live in the past.
Don’t worry about the future.
Live each moment as it comes.

Why?

The past makes up so much of who we are in the present, and therefore determines much of our future.
Our everyday actions will inevitably control our actions in the next day, week, month and year.

I don’t think its truly possible to live in the ‘present’, or rather, I don’t understand the concept.

Past: The time or a period of time before the moment of speaking or writing
Present: the period of time now occurring.
Future: The time or a period of time following the moment of speaking or writing; time regarded as still to come.

Surely even as I right this, it is now in the past.
I don’t see the present as something which you can appreciate. I think that it is something that we take for granted and can only enjoy looking back on it.
Like when someone tells a joke, you laugh, you’re laughing in the present but the joke was told a minute ago, surely that is in the past?

I believe that if you think something through, you are living for the future using your past as a guide. To me, to truly live in the present, one would have to never think, just do. And for me, this would be impossible.
As someone whose mind is constantly pondering ideas, I would never be able to simply do something without thinking. I suppose the nearest I can get is by speaking my mind without thinking.

Sometimes I wish that I could forget elements of my past, but then others are my motivation. Remembering occasions which made me feel happy or at peace, encourage me to want to recreate this emotion.
I think that if I was able to live in the present I would become void of emotion. I’m not saying that those who manage this are void of emotion, just saying that I would be. I wouldn’t worry about my future, which could be a good thing, but could also result in me taking more risks. Something that I should probably learn to do, but I would still need an element of consideration to it. Also, I think that, like I said earlier, I wouldnt appreciate the present. I wouldn’t be able to appreciate having a good time as I wouldnt be able to enjoy the memories, something that I do a lot.

I know I have got the wrong idea on all of this.

I know that living in the moment is more about taking each day as it comes and moving forward as opposed to backwards.
I try this, I think that, yes, it is necessary. However, I need my memories.
They make me who I am.
I cannot rewrite time and therefore every mistake and success I have felt has become the building block for my present, and in turn, this building block which I have just written, will determine my future.

I’m interested to see what everyone else thinks, any views on this?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment